NaNoWriMo: Day Two pm

Standard

So, what a day. I am working two jobs today back to back. Good thing I wrote almost 3,000 words yesterday because so far today I have exactly 19–on my iPhone in “DocstoGo.” I have heard of Japanese novelists creating entire novels on their smartphones. I don’t think I could do that, especially since I have a migraine on top of everything else.

This is the conundrum. If I write on lined paper, I have to retype what I write, which I think will lead to editing–a NaNo no-no. I know from experience that if I let the inner editor loose, this novel-writing experience will grind to a slow pace. The whole point of the challenge is to reach 50,000 words in 30 days. On the other hand, I may be too tired to write when I get home. So, I have a choice: it’s tedious typing on my iPhone or a dwindling word count. I just saw some tweets from Writer’s Digest advocating a motivational plan for Wrimos–I see an iPad in my future.

Anyway, just wondering if real writing can be achieved on the go using a phone…Schubert wrote music on his shirt sleeves…I suppose I could get over the tediousness of typing on a phone.

Leave a Reply

